10 Weapons Of Goddess Durga And Their Significance


Goddess Durga is the epitome of power and has been the most powerful of all the Gods and Goddesses. She had fought with the most treacherous demon ‘Mahisasura’ for 9 long days and took 9 different forms (NavaDurga) of power to kill him. Do you know, what are the weapons Goddess Durga had used to kill the evil? On this Navratri, let’s know the special messages each Weapons Of Goddess Durga conveys.

About: The sword signifies intellect and wisdom. This weapon is usually carried by people who have a sense of responsibility and the understanding to discern right from wrong.
Given by: The sword represents the cosmic intelligence which is symbolized as Lord Ganesha.
Significance: This mighty sword which forms the major weapon she possesses suggests that man should get rid of his illusions and needs which bind his soul and prevents him from doing or experiencing the real duties. Basically, a sword signifies the blend of incomprehension and intellect which overcomes with negativity.

Trishula (Trident)
About: The three-headed sharp weapon symbolizes the three gunas humankind i.e. tamas, rajas and sattva. So, Goddess Durga is considered to be beyond the limits of time and hence she rules it.
Given by: Lord Shiva has been his trident to Her.
Significance: The three points of the Trishul represents the past, the present, and the future. The center spike represents the soul which should ever remain above the past and the future since the past is gone and the future is unsure to become real. Therefore live with awareness every moment so that you would have lived every moment of your life.

Sudarshan Chakra (Thunder disc)
About: The chakra represents the sphere of life which keeps on revolving till we are alive. It says us that time destroys everything but with inner awakening one goes beyond time.
Given by: Vishnu’s gift symbolizes the centre of creation.
Significance: Enjoins humans to exhibit loyalty, love and devotion to Goddess Durga.

Vajra (Thunderbolt)
About: Vajra symbolizes firmness of character, determination, and supreme power. The divinity empowers her devotee with unshaken confidence and will.
Given by: Lord Indra’s gift to Goddess Durga.
Significance: This weapon symbolizes firmness of spirit. Praying to Mother Durga will help shatter the problems encountered in life without losing confidence.

Dhanush and Tir (Bow and arrow)
About: Bow and arrow is a weapon which is being used since time immemorial. Gods and Goddesses used to use it and the kings also used to use it during wars. This combination of potential and kinetic powers symbolizes energy.
Given by: Vayu gave her a bow and arrows
Significance:  The arrow held by Goddess Durga represents that people should be steadfast and focused on their aim. They should be very clear about what they aspire and work accordingly. The bow suggests that a person should by himself have the potential to attain his goals independently.

Bharji (Spear/Javelin)
About: While a spear symbolizes auspiciousness, this gift of Agni also represents pure, fiery power. It also represents that we should possess the quality of knowing what is wrong and what is right and act accordingly.
Given by: Spear gifted by Agni God.
Significance: It signifies the hidden power of humans to overcome all obstacles in life. So, the shield is a weapon used to protect oneself from attacks. We should always keep away the wrong doings and also should never tolerate something against one’s chastity.

Shankh (Conch)
About: The conch is the symbol of the primordial sound of creation, Aum.
Given by: Varuna gave her his conch.
Significance: It believed that the sound Aum or Ohm originated from shankh which produced when the universe first created. So, it has the power to destroy all the negative energies.

About: The lotus is the symbol of Brahma, and represents wisdom, as well as liberation through knowledge
Given by: Brahma gave her lotus along with his kamandalam of holy water and wisdom.
Significance: It is the symbol of Lord Hanuman and symbolizes Devotion and Surrender: Whatever we do in our life we should put love and devotion to it and let go of the outcome as almighty’s will.

Club or Axe (Khitaka/Parashu)
About: The club or axe will kill the evil and choke it to death. Similarly, we need to kill the evil feelings or craving we get from within.
Given by: Vishwakarma gave her his axe
Significance:  It signifies no fear of consequences when fighting the evil.

About: While a lot of representations of Durga show one hand empty in blessing, or holding the trishul to kill Mahishasura. But the tenth hand is actually supposed to be holding a snake.
Given by:Lord Shiva.
Significance: It symbolizes consciousness and the masculine energy of Shiva.

Lion – Vahana
Lion is the king of all animals and is, in fact, the most powerful. Goddess Durga rules the existence by making a lion her Vahana. This signifies that one should keep their strengths and powers within one’s control and let it rise when required. We should also know that what our biggest strength is.

The weapons of Goddess Durga teach us the qualities we should possess to be powerful and achieve our dreams. Her fight with the demon Mahisasura was not just to eradicate evil from the universe during that time; but also to set an example for upcoming millions of generations. Considering her each message deeply we can achieve anything in life.


Recent News


दुनिया के सबसे बड़े हिंदू मंदिर में छिपे हैं कई गहरे राज

हिंदू धर्म भारत का सबसे बड़ा और मूल ध...